Home » Joker/Daffy Duck #NewComicBookDay 29th August 2018

Joker/Daffy Duck #NewComicBookDay 29th August 2018

NCBD290818

New Comic Book Day including Joker/Daffy Duck

It’s Wednesday so that must mean it’s new comic book day so here are Geeky Brummie’s picks for the comics available from your local comic book store including the Joker/Daffy Duck, X-Men Grand Design and Avengers Arena.

xmensecondgen2

Title: X-Men Grand Design: Second Genesis

Publisher: Marvel Comics

Issue No.: 2

Creative Team: Ed Piskor. Cover by Ed Piskor.

The second and final issue in Ed Piskors retelling of the new age of the X-Men. Beautiful art and impeccable storytelling make this a must read. 

From the Publisher:

“SPACE INVADERS!

The Shi’ar! The Brood! The Starjammers! Watch as Marvel’s merry mutants take to the stars for the very first time all over again. See the inaugural X-Men adventures of Kitty Pryde and Carol Danvers. Marvel at the conclusion of the now-classic DARK PHOENIX SAGA. A great entry point for new and lapsed X-Men fans alike!

jokerdaffy1

Title: The Joker / Daffy Duck Special

Publisher: DC Comics

Issue No.: 1

Creative Team: Scott Lobdell, Joey Cavalieri, Brett Booth, Norm Rapmund and Luciana Vecchio. Cover by Brett Booth and Norm Rapmund. Variant Cover by Sanford Greene.

Many of the recent DC/Looney Tunes crossover have been great fun. Daffy is one of my favourite characters and pairing him with The Joker is a stroke of genius. Very much looking forward to reading this.

From the Publisher:

“When Daffy Duck pays a call to the Acme corporate headquarters in Gotham City, he finds the company long gone and their abandoned building now occupied by The Joker. With a hit in progress, Daffy tries to sneak away, only to find himself in the clutches of the Clown Prince of Crime. But Joker decides that there’s some potential in this manic bird and forces Daffy to join his gang. Will he find a way to escape…or will he become The Joker’s new right-hand duck?

 

2021TPB

Title: 2021

Publisher: Titan Books

Issue No.: TPB

Creative Team: Stephane Betbder and Stephane Bervas. Cover by Stephane Bervas.

Missed this book when it was first published earlier this year so a great opportunity to read it all in one collection. It’s great to see more European comics hit these shores and this ideal for fans of Akira, Ghost in the Shell & X-Men.

From the Publisher:

“Escape from New York meets the X-Men!

It’s 2021, Detroit has seceded from the United States and it’s citizens are under the control of a madman with extraordinary abilities. The only hope of retaking the city lies with four superpowered children but their powers come with a price – using them means aging prematurely.

Can they save the city before their powers use up their lives?

 

 

avengersarenaTPB

Title: Avengers Arena (Complete Collection)

Publisher: Marvel Comics

Issue No.: TPB

Creative Team: Dennis Hopeless, Christos Gage, Kev Walker, Aleesandro Vitti, Riccardo Burchielli and Karl Moline. Cover by Dave Johnson.

This series is fantastic. Great characters, wonderful writing and amazing art especially from Kev Walker. Highly recommended.

From The Publisher:

“Trapped on an isolated island, 16 superhuman teens – including members of the Runaways and Avengers Academy – are given a chilling ultimatum by their demented captor: Fight or die. And only one of them will make it out alive! Thus begins a primal battle that tests each combatant’s skills, stamina and morals. Welcome to Arcade’s Murderworld – where secrets are plenty, alliances are fleeting and the key to victory might be rewriting the rules of the game! Cammi and Hazmat battle the mysterious Death Locket, and X-23 and Juston Seyfert’s Sentinel join the fray – but who is the killer stalking the heroes in their sleep? Who are the students of the Braddock Academy? And why does Darkhawk equal death? As emotions run high and the bloody final battle draws ever closer, who will find a way to survive?

Collecting AVENGERS ARENA #1-18.

 


Visit Nostalgia & Comics for all your comic and geeky collectable needs.

Keep a track of all your upcoming comics, trade and creators using the Hypedrive app – download for iOS here.

Tune in to Brum Radio every Saturday at noon to hear our pick of the week during Geeky Goings On.

Get the podcast: iTunes, Podiant, Sticher, Pocket Casts , TuneIn, Podbean

Follow @BrumRadio On Twitter

Follow @GeekyBrummie On Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.