fbpx

The GB Pull List – #NTYCBD 22nd April 2020

NTYCBD15042020

The Geeky Brummie Pull List with #NTYCBD.

Hello and welcome to yet another Pull List. This week I’ll continue to look back at some comics I loved that may be new to you – #NTYCBD.Where possible I’d like people to reach out to their local comic book store – a list of the big UK ones are at the bottom this post – and make a purchase from them. I will include a link to the books on Comixology/Amazon as an option where possible. Some books may be more difficult to track down but it’ll be worth having a look on eBay for those.

This week I’m going to have a look a three books from some of my favourite creators.

mythicNTYCBD

Title: Mythic Volume 1

Publisher: Image Comics

Written by Phil Hester : Art by John McCrea & Mike Spicer
Genres : Action/Fantasy/Horror

Page Count : 248 Pages

Available from Page 45 Comics – Mythic, Volume 1

From the Publisher:
Science is a lie, an opiate for the masses. The truth is, magic makes the world go ’round. And when magic breaks, MYTHIC fixes it. Apache shaman Waterson, Greek immortal Cassandra, and cell phone salesman Nate Jayadarma are the crack field team assigned with keeping the gears of the supernatural world turning, and more importantly, keeping you from ever knowing about it. Join Eisner nominee PHIL HESTER (Green Arrow, The Coffin) and Eisner winner JOHN McCREA (Hitman, The Boys) on their latest expedition to the dark heart of weird comics. Collects Mythic #1-8.

I’ve been following John McCrea’s career for a long time (sorry John) and have loved his work. The fact he is a huge Micronauts and ROM fan make him even more of a legend. This book with Phil Hester and Mike Spicer is a fun read which features some of John’s best artwork. The premise of the story is that science is a lie and magic is very real and the only thing keeping the world together. The mysterious Mythic Lore Services is here to solve the problems of all the supernatural beings in the world. Into this world a young man is recruited by a mysterious agent after he encounters and defeats a monster. And it just keeps getting weirder from there. At times messy and confusing, the book is definitely worth seeking out for some superb art by John. Think of this as a magical version of Warren Ellis’ Planetary and you won’t be far off.

deadeyesNTYCBD

Title: Dead Eyes Volume 1

Publisher: Image Comics

Written by Gerry Duggan : Art by John McCrea and Mike Spicer
Genres : Action/Adventure/Comedy/Crime

Page Count : 115 Pages

Comixology Link – Dead Eyes, Volume 1

From the Publisher:

Meet Martin Dobbs. He’s a hot-tempered, foul-mouthed former mercenary and gun-for-hire who’s just been forced out of retirement—with both funny and violent results. DEAD EYES is equal parts Unforgiven, The Equalizer, and Robin Hood, from two of comics’ most irreverent creators: writer GERRY DUGGAN (Deadpool) and artist JOHN McCREA (Hitman)!

Collects DEAD EYES #1-4

My second choice also comes from John McCrea. This time he is joined by Gerry Duggan and once again Mike Spicer. Dead Eyes is just wonderful, a great fun book. Dead Eyes is a retired burglar who hasn’t pulled a heist since his last big score in the 90s. His wife is in a wheelchair and he ends up needing more money to cover her medical expenses than his Supermarket greeter job is pulling in. So, he looks to get back into his old ways but in doing so he draws some very unwanted attention to himself. Deftly written with lovely art from John and superb colours from Mike this is a book that should be on everyone’s pull list.

deptofmonsterologyNTYCBD

Title: Dept. of Monsterology, Vol. 1: Monsterology 101

Publisher: Renegade Arts Entertainment

Written by Gordon Rennie : Art by PJ Holden : Colored by Steven Denton : Lettered by Jim Campbell : Edited by Alexander Finbow

Genres : Action/Adventure/Horror/Science Fiction/Supernatural/Occult

Page Count : 132 Pages

Comixology Link – Dept. of Monsterology, Vol. 1: Monsterology 101

From the Publisher:

Investigating the dark, forgotten corners of our world, one monster at a time.Officially, it’s the Department of Cryptozoology, Mythological Studies, Parapsychology and Fortean Phenomena. But to the rest of the students and staff at the Dunsany College, baffied by the cloak of secrecy that surrounds the Department and its affairs, it has another, more dismissive, name: The Department of Monsterology. Funded by the mysterious Hampton Foundation, the Dept. operates several field teams that roam the globe on extended research expeditions. Their brief: to investigate the dark and unexplored corners of our world – the places we’ve forgotten, lost or believe to be mythical. And to study those things that may still be lurking there.The first story arc introduces us to ancient monsters from the depths of the ocean, crystalline creatures from the caves of Eastern Europe, undead armies from the sands of Egypt, and the Department’s deadliest rivals of all… Featuring the first 4 issues in the story arc, plus a new story “The Trouble With Harry.”

My final choice this week is from another of the UK’s most underappreciated artists PJ Holden. PJ has been doing great work in places like 2000AD for a while this book with long time collaborator Gordon Rennie is a delight. A dash of steampunk, Lovecraft and old school pulp adventure all wrapped into one glorious whole. The comic should appeal to fans of League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Hellboy and Atomic Robo. It is full to the brim with references from other sources, past and modern, from the team names (Carnacki, Challenger, Carter), to the artefacts, to Professor Wilmington’s “Big Daddy” Bioshock inspired body. Super fun and highly recommend.

 


My Pulls

With no new comics to buy this week what can you do in the meantime? Let your local comic shop know you are here for them. Contact them and see if they are still open, continue to pre-order titles, and use this as an opportunity to purchase one of my #NTYCBD suggestions, a new collection or back issues from them. Use one of the apps or websites below to see what’s due to be coming out soon and pre-order the titles you’re interested in, since, as of now, publishers still intend to release the comics that are not currently able to get to stores.

Here are a few of the great comic shops in the UK so get in touch and see how you can order comics and continue to support their stores –

FORBIDDEN PLANET INTERNATIONAL (VARIOUS) – includes Worlds Apart Birmingham

Currently closed and home delivery / mail order services are also suspended until further notice. Follow the stores social media pages for updates!

Our Stores

FORBIDDEN PLANET (VARIOUS) – includes Birmingham Megastore

All stores are currently closed but their Web Store is still active. Check their website for more information –

https://forbiddenplanet.com/stores/

GOSH! COMICS (LONDON)

Store closed but mail order available. Check their website for more information –

https://www.goshlondon.com and https://twitter.com/GoshComics

OK COMICS (LEEDS)

Currently closed and mail order services are also suspended until further notice. Follow the stores social media pages and website for updates!

http://www.okcomics.co.uk/ and https://twitter.com/OKComics

PAGE 45 (NOTTINGHAM)

Store closed but mail order available. Check their website for more information –

http://www.page45.com/ and https://twitter.com/PageFortyFive

TRAVELLING MAN (VARIOUS)

All stores are currently closed but their Web Store is still active. Check their website and social media for more information –

https://travellingman.com/ and https://twitter.com/TravellingManUK

comicshops

On YouTube

New videos are available on our channel – Geeky Brummie.

Be sure to subscribe to our YouTube channel.


Visit Worlds Apart Birmingham for all your comic and geeky collectable needs.

Keep a track of all your upcoming comics, trade and creators using the Hypedrive app – download for iOS here.

Or use the awesome League of Comics Geeks website – leagueofcomicgeeks.com

Tune in to our podcast every Saturday to hear our pick of the week during Geeky Goings On.

Get the podcast: iTunes, Podiant, Sticher, Pocket Casts , TuneIn, Podbean

Follow @GeekyGoingsOn On Twitter

Follow @GeekyBrummie On Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Support us on Ko-fi