fbpx

The Geeky Brummie Pull List – Heroes Reborn – 05.05.21

0505NCBD2021

The Geeky Brummie Pull List with Heroes Reborn

Welcome to a short but sweet edition of the Pull List. Only one comic makes the main list and it’s a big new release from Marvel. Four other comics make it in to our On The Radar section and you should definitely check them out.

In Meanwhile… we pay tribute to artist John Paul Leon who passed away last weekend.

Now on with the comics…

 

heroesreborn1

Title: Heroes Reborn

Issue: 1

Publisher: Marvel

Written by Jason Aaron : Art by Ed McGuinness : Cover by Leinil Francis Yu

From the Publisher:

A WORLD WITHOUT AVENGERS! Welcome to a world where Tony Stark never built an Iron Man armor. Where Thor is a hard-drinking atheist who despises hammers. Where Wakanda is dismissed as a myth. And where Captain America was never found in the ice because there were no Avengers to find him. Instead this world has always been protected by Earth’s Mightiest Heroes, the Squadron Supreme of America. And now the Squadron faces an attack from some of their fiercest enemies, like Dr. Juggernaut, the Black Skull, the Silver Witch and Thanos with his Infinity Rings. But why is the Daywalker Blade the one man alive who seems to remember that the entire world has somehow been…reborn?

This week Marvel launches its latest event mini-series Heroes Reborn. In the first issue of this eight part series we are introduced to a world where Tony Stark never built an Iron Man armour. Where Thor is a hard-drinking atheist who despises hammers. Where Wakanda is dismissed as a myth. And where Captain America was never found in the ice, because there were no Avengers to find him. Instead this world has always been protected by Earth’s Mightiest Heroes, the Squadron Supreme of America. And now the Squadron face an attack from some of their fiercest enemies, like Dr. Juggernaut, the Black Skull, the Silver Witch and Thanos with his Infinity Rings. Blade is the one man alive who seems to remember that the entire world has somehow been… reborn. This book is feels like the old What-If? books I used to love as a kid and I’m looking forward to future issues where McGuinness with be joined by Dale Keown, Federico Vicentini, and James Stokoe.

Of course there are spin-off books but I’m hoping I won’t need to pick those up to make the most of this title. Having just finished King In Black I do wish Marvel would spread these event series out but having Blade play a pivotal role in this series has got me hooked in. Oh, and I do kinda dig these interlocking covers.


 

ontheradar

On the radar this week some other comics not on the Pull List but well worth checking out:

immortalhulk46

The Immortal Hulk #46

Marvel Comics

Written by Al Ewing : Art by Joe Bennett : Cover by Alex Ross

We thought they were dead. We thought they’d been banished, controlled, made harmless. We were wrong. The gamma monsters are coming back — converging, one by one, on New York City. And who can stop them now? Who can save us…from the IMMORTAL HULK?

 

marauders20

Marauders #20

Marvel Comics

Written by Gerry Duggan : Art by Stefano Caselli : Cover by Russell Dauterman

EYE OF THE STORM! As the preparations for the Hellfire Gala come to a head, Ororo’s eyes are pointed to the future, a future that takes her off the seas and over the horizon.

 

eve1

Eve #1

BOOM! Studios

Written by Victor LaValle : Art by Jo Mi-Gyeong : Cover by Ario Anindito

For fans of Undiscovered Country and Little Bird comes a new adventure series from award-winning author Victor LaValle (Victor LaValle’s Destroyer) and rising-star artist Jo Mi-Gyeong (Jim Henson’s The Dark Crystal) about a dangerous journey across a future dystopian America to save the world.* When the ice caps melted, most of humanity was lost to the hidden disease that was released.
* Now, a mysterious girl named Eve has awoken in secret and must deal with a world that’s nothing like the virtual reality she was raised in.
* In order to save her real father, Eve must embark on a deadly quest across the country, but she has no idea of the threats that await her — or the price she will pay to restore life to a dying planet…

 

xmenmanthing1

X-Men: Curse of the Man-Thing #1

Marvel Comics

Written by Steve Orlando : Art by Andrea Broccardo : Cover by Daniel Acuna

MAN-THING’S CURSE HAS BEEN REVEALED…BUT IT’S UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT! Years ago, DOCTOR TED SALLIS was ready to give up anything to crack the SO-2 serum and deliver success to his growing family. Unbeknownst to the rest of the world…he did. Today, as cities spanning from the U.S. to Krakoa are besieged by fear-driven blazes, the MAN-THING must reckon with his past deeds if he hopes to emerge renewed and rescue a world on fire. But fighting from his lowest means that Man-Thing can rise to his highest, especially with the unexpected help of the X-MEN’S resident sorceress MAGIK and her debuting team of monstrous mutants known as THE DARK RIDERS!


new-meanwhile

R.I.P John Paul Leon

 

Last weekend artist John Paul Leon passed away from cancer at the age of 49. John Paul Leon was very distinctive comic book artist who had recently been suppling the stunning covers for one of my favourite comics John Constantine: Hellblazer.

 

John Paul Leon had worked on a great number of comic books from Marvel, DC Comics/Milestone, Dark Horse on titles including StaticRobocop: Prime SuspectEarth X and Batman: Creature of the Night. John Paul Leon’s art was distinctive and kinetic and he was admired by many of his contemporaries. He will be missed by the whole comics community.

What follows is a statement put out by his family and a link to the GoFundMe page where people can support his surviving family with his memorial and with setting up a fund for his daughter through the selling of his original art:

John Paul Leon, one of the most revered and masterful artists and storytellers in the comic book industry, passed away Sunday morning at l0am, May 2nd, 2021, after a 14-year battle with cancer. He was surrounded by family and friends in his last moments, fighting for his life, much like the many superhero stories he crafted over his celebrated career spanning three decades.

John Paul’s bold and dramatic work was best exemplified in the critically-acclaimed EARTH X, a maxi-series which redefined the Marvel Comics universe; as the original artist on STATIC, which laid the foundation for the Milestone/DC Comics universe; his creator-owned THE WINTERMEN series about cold war era super soldiers; and BATMAN CREATURE OF THE NIGHT, a passion project deconstructing the iconic dark knight.

He started drawing COMICS professionally at the age of 19, while he was studying illustration at School of Visual Arts in New York City, on ROBOCOP PRIME SUSPECT for Dark Horse Comics. JP’s first published work however debuted in the pages of TSR DUNGEONS AND DRAGONS when he was a high school student at the New World School of the Arts, in Miami.

While at SVA, John Paul studied under one of his childhood idols, Walter Simonson. “I am honored to have JP’s RAGNAROK cover framed and hanging in our front hallway,” says Walter, It’s a constant reminder to do better every day and to try to make myself into the best artist I can.”

John Paul’s work was impactful and expressive, and in his personal life he was very private and humble. To him, his ultimate goal was to build a body of work that would earn the respect of his peers. To his peers and friends, it was how he lived as a human that was most inspirational. As a teenager, whenever you rode with him in his car, he forbid the radio being on, so that you could appreciate to the true sound of the engine.

JP is survived by his wife, daughter and older brother.

In lieu of gifts, a GOFUNDME page has been set up to fund his daughter’s future educational pursuits…

 


Your Local Comics Shops

After April 12th non-essential shop were allowed to open their doors again. This means many of your local comic shops are now open and you can pop in for your geek fix. Listed below are some of the best shops across the county with links to check the very latest information including opening time and covid safety measures. When visiting these shops please be patient and respectful to all the staff who are doing an incredible job in very difficult circumstances.

FORBIDDEN PLANET INTERNATIONAL (VARIOUS) – includes Worlds Apart Birmingham

Please check with stores for any changes to opening times and services.

Follow the stores social media pages for updates!

Our Stores

FORBIDDEN PLANET (VARIOUS) – includes Birmingham Megastore

Check their website for more information –

https://forbiddenplanet.com/stores/

GOSH! COMICS (LONDON)

Check their website for more information –

https://goshlondon.com/the-gosh-blog/the-gosh-authority-130620-reopening-news/ and https://twitter.com/GoshComics

OK COMICS (LEEDS)

Follow the stores social media pages and website for updates!

http://www.okcomics.co.uk/ and https://twitter.com/OKComics

PAGE 45 (NOTTINGHAM)

Check their website for more information –

http://www.page45.com/ and https://twitter.com/PageFortyFive

TRAVELLING MAN (VARIOUS)

Check their website and social media for more information –

https://travellingman.com/ and https://twitter.com/TravellingManUK

comicshops

On YouTube

New videos are available on our channel – Geeky Brummie.

Be sure to subscribe to our YouTube channel.

 


Visit Worlds Apart Birmingham for all your comic and geeky collectable needs.

Keep a track of all your upcoming comics, trade and creators using the Hypedrive app – download for iOS here.

Or use the awesome League of Comics Geeks website – leagueofcomicgeeks.com

Tune in to our podcast every other Saturday to hear our pick of the week during Geeky Goings On.

Get the podcast: iTunes, Podiant, Sticher, Pocket Casts , TuneIn, Podbean

Follow @GeekyGoingsOn On Twitter

Follow @GeekyBrummie On Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Support us on Ko-fi

%d bloggers like this: